* College credit hours from a regionally accredited college or university.** ParaPro Assessment is the state's formal academic assessment required for teacher assistants. Contact Educational Testing Services for more information.
the purpose of this program is to encourage certain Educational Aides to complete full teacher certification by providing need-based exemptions from the payment of tuition and certain mandatory fees at Texas public institutions of higher education.
Be a Resident of Texas. Be registered for the Selective Service or be exempt from this requirement. Be employed in some capacity by a public school district in Texas during the full term for which the student receives the award unless granted a hardship. Show financial need.Meet satisfactory academic progress requirements established by the college or university. Be enrolled in courses required for teacher certification in one or more areas that the Texas Education Agency has determined to be experiencing a critical shortage of teachers at public schools in Texas in accordance with Texas Administrative Code, 21.1083 (6). Have been employed by a public school district in Texas working full-time, in a classroom directly with the students, in a teaching capacity as: An Educational Aide for at least one school year of the past five school years preceding the term or semester for which the student is awarded their initial exemption, or A substitute teacher for 180 days of the past five school years preceding the term or semester for which the student is awarded their initial exemption.
The Nursing Assistant Registry lists nursing assistants who have met Minnesota training and/or testing standards to work in nursing homes and certified boarding care homes. The registry also has information about nursing assistants who have substantiated findings of abuse, neglect, and theft.
Temporary Health Care Workers Urgently Needed in Long-term Care and Assisted Living Facilities: If you are a health care worker (licensed or unlicensed RN, LPN, or nursing assistant) willing to assist long-term care providers experiencing a staffing shortage due to a COVID-19 outbreak in their facility, please fill out the form at the link above.
Teacher Aide Application (PDE-283) (PDF) School districts and LEAs may employ teacher aides to teach the practical driving phase of a standardized driver education program, see 24 P.S. § 15-1519(b). The procedure is as follows:
One-to-one aides may not be used as a substitute for certified, qualified teachers for an individual student or as a substitute for an appropriately developed and implemented behavioral intervention plan or as the primary staff member responsible for implementation of a behavioral intervention plan. While a teaching assistant may assist in related instructional work, primary instruction must be provided to the student by a certified teacher(s). A teacher aide may assist in the implementation of a behavioral intervention plan, but may not provide instructional services to a student. See
You're an eligible educator if, for the tax year you're a kindergarten through grade 12 teacher, instructor, counselor, principal or aide for at least 900 hours a school year in a school that provides elementary or secondary education as determined under state law.
If you have a bachelor's degree with a major that is not in communicative sciences or disorders, you may still qualify for the assistant license. The department will evaluate transcripts on a case-by-case basis to ensure equivalent academic preparation. All applicants must have at least 24 semester credit hours in speech-language pathology and/or audiology (up to 6 credit hours of audiology may count toward the 24 credit hours), including at least three hours in language disorders and at least three hours in speech disorders.
An applicant for a speech-language pathology assistant license should earn 25 hours of clinical observation and 25 hours of clinical assisting experience through their university before graduating. If any hours of clinical experience and/or clinical observation were obtained through the university, a Clinical Observation and Experience Form for Speech-Language Pathology Assistant (PDF), must be completed by the university program director or designee and submitted by the applicant.
For applicants who did not obtain all of the 25 hours of clinical observation and 25 hours of clinical assisting experience through their university, an Assistant in Speech-Language Pathology Clinical Deficiency Plan Form (PDF) must be submitted with the Speech-Language Pathology Assistant application. The Clinical Deficiency Plan is used to obtain and document clinical observation and clinical assisting experience hours that were not earned before graduation. The proposed supervisor will complete the Assistant in Speech-Language Pathology Clinical Deficiency Plan Form and the applicant will submit the form with their application. If an applicant did not complete all of their hours through their university, they must wait for their speech-language pathology assistant license to be issued before completing the missing hours under the Clinical Deficiency Plan.
Your supervisor must have at least two years of professional experience in providing direct client services, which may include an internship year (clinical fellowship) year. Your supervisor may not supervise more than a total of four interns and/or assistants at one time, and your supervisor must not be your parent or child.
You may not practice without supervision. Your supervisor is required to notify TDLR of any changes in supervision. Supervisors may use the online licensing system to delete licensed assistants from their license, or they may submit a letter to TDLR stating termination of supervision.
Your new proposed supervisor must submit a new Supervisory Responsibility Statement to TDLR for approval. Assistants who currently have a license with TDLR may be added and removed online using the online licensing system. For further assistance, please see the instructions for managing assistants online (PDF).
This Fact Sheet focuses on certificationrequirements for teaching assistants postFebruary 2004 when the last major revisions tocertification requirements were done.It also summarizes the duties ofteacher aides and teaching assistants in the areasof employment, job duties, licensing andcertification, including New York State laws andregulations governing each area. Finally, it addresses the most frequently asked questions related to certification and licensure.
Teaching assistants, unlike teacher aides, are members of the teaching staff and must be given a probationary appointment as a teaching assistant and are eligible for tenure according to Section 30.8(d) of the Regulations of the Commissioner of Education.
A continuing certificate as well as a Level I, II or III certificate or a Pre-Professional certificate is portable across school district and BOCES boundaries, in the same way a teaching certificate is portable. A teaching assistant is not required to obtain a new certificate if they choose to seek employment in another school district or BOCES.
As of July 1, 2016, all Level III teaching assistant certificate holders are required to register with the State Education Department (SED) using the TEACH online system. Each registration begins a 5-year cycle during which Level III certificate holders are required to complete 100 hours of Continuing Teacher & Leader Education (CTLE) hours. Individuals whose Level III Teaching Assistant certificates are issued by SED after July 1, 2016 will be automatically registered. For additional information on the registration process and CTLE requirements, please see
At the conclusion of the five (5) year registration cycle, Level III teaching assistants will logon to their TEACH accounts to register for a new five (5) year registration cycle. During this process the teaching assistant will attest to completing the required 100 CTLE hours. No documentation is sent to the state unless the state specifically asks for it.
Thus, districts that employ Level III teaching assistants who work full-time (90 or more days in a school year) are required to provide opportunities for the Level III TAs to accumulate the required 100 CTLE hours necessary to maintain their certificates.
Undergraduate Courses: The Education & Learning Trust has partnered with a number of colleges throughout New York State to offer online, face-to-face, and CD-based undergraduate courses. The courses are designed for teaching assistants seeking NYS certification, and those interested in furthering their education, including pursuing a degree in teaching.
Professional Development Workshops: To maintain their certification, Level III teaching assistants are required to complete 100 CTLE hours every five years. ELT is a state-approved sponsor for CTLE hours and offers over 15 workshops to meet the CTLE requirements. Topics include: Helping Students Succeed; Disability Awareness; Dealing with Difficult Students; Supporting Students with Autism; Strategies for Struggling Readers, and Using the IEP to Support Student Instruction. 2b1af7f3a8